Local 18 Officers

Meet our leadership

Local 18’s leadership is elected by members from among their peers. Here are the people who work day in and day out on behalf of Ohio’s Operating Engineers.

Business Manager

Richard E. Dalton

Rick became a member of Local 18 in 1979 when he entered the Ohio Operating Engineers Apprenticeship program. He was elected Business Manager in 2015, and also serves as a trustee of the Local 18 Health & Welfare Plan, the Ohio Operating Engineers Pension Fund, and the Local 18 Apprenticeship and Training Fund. He serves on the Board of Trustees at the International General Pension Plan and the Governor’s Executive Workforce Development Board.  He previously served in the elected positions of Guard, Auditor, Trustee, Vice President, and President, a position he filled from 2010 to 2015. He was the first Business Manager that was a graduate of the Local 18 Apprenticeship program.


Thomas P. Byers

Vice President

Michael R. Bertolone

Recording-Corresponding Secretary

Jefferson S. Powell

Financial Secretary

Joseph W. Casto, III


Thomas J. Perevosnik

Scott R. Stevenson

Darrin Morgan

Robert L. Hughes


Ismael Gutierrez, Jr.

Jason D. Baker

Ronald A. Krohn, Jr.


Tony D. James


John D. Hardesty